Tree of Savior Forum

Build for a casual player

I’m a newbie that want to play in a casual way. I just plan to play through the story and test out how some classes work. I don’t plan to play the most endgame content or competitively so I have some leeway for mistakes or poor choices.

Usually when playing games I choose as I go, but here I am suddenly presented with 15 options and I’m having a hard time telling what each class is exactly, concisely about with just skill descriptions.
Because of “roleplaying” reasons I’m looking for a build that focuses on magical damage and finishes with rune caster (even if it seems to be a buff class!) preferably through their own means rather than summoning demons or zombies, so that should cross out a few options like sorcerer, necromancer, bokor or warlock (shame! That flower dress was tacky but cute) although if they’re particularly fun or versatile I’m open to it. The formerly rank 1 classes pyromancer and cryomancer look like obvious choices, but also seem kind of boring?

And for the game as a whole, how unwise is it to pick classes that serve a similar/identical role? I guess optimal builds require hours upon hours of studying like RO did, but this time I want to wing it and it would be useful to know if classes in this game in general synergize better with classes with a similar purpose in order to combo/enhance their scope or if it’s better to cover more bases and look for buffs and passives that enhance your main role.

So, Rune Caster is “mandatory”. And you are not sure about Pyromancer.

Elementalist-Onmyoji-Rune Caster. Simple and good. Follow the “Hot” skills and everything is going to be ok. And, if you really want to pick Pyromancer, remove Elementalist.

Just a note that some classes, like Onmyoji, Rune Caster and Taoist, consume something to cast its spells. You can buy them from their respective master or from the Wizard Master in Klaipeda (or the submaster in Orsha).