Tree of Savior Forum

Super noob here: PvP Mage build questions

Hi guys, I’m totally new to the game (day 1) and I’ve heard that planning your build wrong is very unforgiving in ToS since from my understanding you can’t respec without TP.

I’d like to focus on solo and small skirmish PvP mostly and I’ve done some researches before posting this but I’m still very confused, so I hope some knowledgeable people can shed some light.

As playstyle I’d like to prioritize CC (and maybe Debuffs) over DPS and as far as DPS I’d like to pick DoTs over burst as long as they’re equally viable, but otherwise I’m just picking the most efficient source of damage.

I tried reading some threads and familiarizing with the Mage skill tree and from what I’ve understood any combination of Wizard (either just rank1 or straight up to 3), Cryo (usually up to rank2 or 3, seldom 1), Kino (always up to rank 3) works pretty well, possibly topping the build with Warlock (but I’ve heard some pick Rune Caster at rank 6 as well).

Can someone please tell me which build should I go for, given my priorities?

I’ve also tried fiddling with the skill tree and made up these templates based on the lacklustre skill descriptions: I’m sure I’m making a lot of mistakes, like probably spending not enough/too many points in stuff like Ice Wall, Sleep and such and just picking bad stuff, so please feel free to point out all the noob traps I’ve fallen into.

Wiz 1, Cryo 3, Psy 3

Wiz 3, Psy 3, War 1

Also what’s the gist behind adding Rune Caster in certain builds? Synergy between Rune of Ice and Cryo builds? Is it worth?
And finally I know that Elementalist has too long animations for PvP and it’s too dependant on Int attribute apparently to work to survive burst but why is no one picking just one level for Stone Curse? It’s overkill/overlapping CC and just not worth it?

Thank you in advance!

At the moment, can not re-choose the class/circle/rank/etc.