Tree of Savior Forum

Shield based builds? Updated with potential build

To preface this post, I’m new to the game. Although I played during the beta and briefly after launch I didn’t get far as I was bound and determined to make a monk that had me going through dievdirby before that. Statues weren’t quite working properly, or if they were, I was doing something wrong. I’ve come back in the past week or so and have leveled an Inquisitor to 220ish. Suffice it to say, I’m an utter nublet.

Now on to my question. I’ve noticed that several swordsman classes have skills involving the use of their shields and was wondering if there were any viable builds that primarily focused on using those shield based skills? I suspect that there aren’t and various searches on the subject have been mostly fruitless.

Edit: Since there have been no bites, I’ve done a little bit of digging and figured that what I’m probably looking for is a Rodelero build. I considered Peltasta, but I think I ultimately want to focus more on doing damage with some utlity/cc on the side and from what I figure, Peltasta will hinder my damage in the long run. I basically want something that will be able to do something come end game. Though with me being a noob, I don’t really know what that consists of.

What I’ve come up with so far. A Rodelero/Barbarian/Murmillo build. Would this work? Are there any other viable combinations that I may have overlooked? Again, my goal is mostly to rely on shield skills for my main source of damage.

1 Like

i see, your aiming as an offensive shield type. yes, this could work.

Barb + Rodel + Murmi is easily the strongest dps using shield skills. It has pretty high skill factors because of buffs and high AoE atk ratio from the skills themselves.

However, the biggest flaw of this build is the lack of defense ignoring damage skills. Doppel has Sturtzhau, Dragoons have Dragon Fear + Dragon Soar and Dragontooth, Fencers have Sept Etoille, etc…