Tree of Savior Forum

Old player, interested in returning

Hello there! I played way back during the beta, even bought a founder’s pack for when it finally released. Unfortunately I had to drop it rather quickly due a multitude of reasons, but seeing the Re:Build changes have sparked an interest again. I have a couple of questions:

1. I haven’t checked updates at all ever since I stopped playing, so despite being one of the earlier players my knowledge of the game rn is much closer to a complete newbie’s I guess? That being said, if I wanted to come back, should I jump in now, or just wait until the Re:Build changes roll in? I remember very few things about the game, and iirc my strongest character was around ~80ish when I stopped, so still very far from endgame. I have no idea what many of the specific terms (challenge mode for example) or item values (I remember gems existing but nothing much about them beyond that) are.

2. How is character customization now? While I adore many of the chara designs, I remember being very frustrated with the super limited customization at the start. Are most customization options (hair, costumes) still reliant on the cash(?) shop? I try to stay F2P in pretty much any game so…

Apologies for wall of text, and thanks for reading!

1. Since you sound like you’re pretty much starting fresh then there’s no real benefit to starting now that you can’t also do after the patch hits. There’s also nothing in particular that gives you incentive to start after the patch hits instead of now, aside from not having to adjust whatever it is you manage to learn or get used to from the current system.