Tree of Savior Forum

Musings on iToS Balance - Part IV of V Supplement 1 (PVP & TBL)

This is a good time to complete this section, as we are due for the release of R9. This is an extension of Part IV of the 5 part series about my thoughts and opinions on Tree of Savior, with 2 sub-sections left untouched. With the previous post being locked, I can only create a new thread for it.

• PVP/TBL/GVG thoughts and suggestions
  • Guild thoughts and suggestions

Link to the previous thread is available below:

Supplement 1 will touch on the PVP/TBL aspects of ToS. Heads up first, I have little experience in ToS’s TBL, with combined matches across all my characters for TBL at probably less than 50 matches. Hence the approach for this post is mainly from a casual’s viewpoint. (I do have some experience in other player vs player type games though, like WoW pvp, but most are mainly fighting games like SF, KOF, MvC etc, give or take around 10k hours combined. )

Disclaimer
These are just my personal observations and opinions, do feel free to disagree, suggest and discuss XD.

[Balance in interplayer content - PVP/TBL]

Most of us know what PVP is, content in which pits a player or a team of players against another or team, in a setting where one side will win. In a game where the outcome determines a winning side and losing side, participants will want the settings of the game to be balanced and fair. But what exactly is balance for PVP? In my opinion it is split into the following 2 categories:

• Balance between character avatars and in game environments

In this category we include things which are within the game which are classes, builds, character gears. Format of PVP is also included here as some pvp format favor certain builds while other formats favor another group of builds and classes. Items which are within this category as usually easier to plan for and control since everything is within the design scope of the game’s designers and developers.