Tree of Savior Forum

How to build my Monk? (NEW PLAYER)

I am BRAND NEW to the game, just hit level 70 on my Monk. I’m not sure exactly what direction to take this class? I’ve seen countless people in forums and threads say, “Monk can’t be a good dps or a tank, you basically have to be a physical dmg healer”. Is that really the only role Monk can fill? I’d love to be a Tank Monk or DPS Monk, I just don’t know enough about the game or builds to put something together. Any guidance or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you :slight_smile:

I don’t understand anything about cleric classes, but I made a research and got some link-builds:

Monk/Chaplain/Zealot

Monk/Inquisitor/Zealot

Monk is kind of weird. I’ve been looking for information on it and it’s very EH. So having a professional weigh in would be lovely. People deem it weak because, quite frankly, the damage does appear to be medium at best.

But they seem like they trade pure DPS for the ability to have many viable class combinations AND its own skill rotation so they don’t need outside attack skills to pad their rotation. On top of that, a lot of their damage is non-conditional, not requiring the enemy to be debuffed to get bonus damage from skills (ie: unlike how Shadowmancers need to have blind on enemies to receive 30% more max dmg, etc). So we could say their balancing power is tied up in pure flexibility. They’re also a special kind of evil in PvP settings.

That leaves you with lotsa options:
Zealot - warp, damage buffs, KB+KD immunity, very offense based self-buffs
Chaplain - tbh compared to the others I don’t see the appeal outside of Cappella…
Paladin - damage reduction junk + regen + AoE ratio booster I guess
Oracle - D E A T H • S E N T E N C E and other useful buffs
Priest - YEET the death away and team buffing
Dievdirbys - SP and CD reduction for all, more weight, 20% dmg vs plants too
Plague Doctor - Healing Factor, offensive/positioning oriented buffs, immunity to debuffs