Tree of Savior Forum

Feedback about the Economy on MMO's and TOS

So, to start, i have some background on basic macroeconomy (I studied economy but with a focus on Micro / Finances, i am by NO means a Pro about this or any of what i say have any weight beside what i have observed.) but i have played alot of MMOs and have always analyzed how their particular economy worked, compared to real life. I also want to apologize since im not a native english speaker and i have carpial tunnel syndrome so if I mess up any word that can still be understood i probably wont go back to re-type it.
Also i want to point out that since Tree of Savior is a F2P game, they Will have to add features to be paid for with real money, and as such, i will take that into consideration.

First i want to talk about Inflation. Inflation happens when money is Created. This is usually done by 3 main things.
Quests.
Selling Drops.
Monsters Giving Gold when dying.
There are some minor extra things, like skills that can create money or items, but those are the main 3.

Among this 3, the best way to control inflation is through Selling Drops as a major if not only Gold Income.
The reason behind this is 2-fold.
First, people won’t be able to create new characters in other to do more quests and get more gold. Some games try to make it so the higher the quest level, more gold you get, but that’s not health to ingame economy as i’ll explain later on.
Second, drops can be used, for equip or crafting or quests, so this gives players a Choice, of what they value more. (I believe in all games, choice is an important mechanic to make it fun). Also, different to money, drops have Weight, which is a mechanic often used (or inventory-space, think Diablo 1-2) so there is a point when farming were the player has to choose if they stay and cant pick any more items, but dont waste time going back (for example when trying to level up) or they have to go back to sell so they can keep makiing a profit.